63 Whiteford, Taylor & Preston Attorneys Listed in Best Lawyers in America, Four Named as "Lawyers of the Year"

Date: August 20, 2014

Baltimore – Sixty-three lawyers from Whiteford, Taylor & Preston have been selected by their peers for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America® 2015 (copyright 2014 by Woodward/White, Inc., of Aiken S.C.). The lawyers selected are based in the firm's Maryland, Washington and Virginia offices.

In addition, four lawyers were selected as “Lawyers of the Year” in the Baltimore region for their particular areas of practice.  They are:

  • Edwin G. Fee, Jr.  - 2015 Baltimore Trusts & Estates "Lawyer of the Year."
  • Harry S. Johnson - 2015 Baltimore Mass Tort Litigation/Class Actions – Defendants  "Lawyer of the Year."
  • Paul M. Nussbaum – 2015 Baltimore Litigation - Bankruptcy "Lawyer of the Year."
  • Warren N. Weaver  - 2015 Baltimore Product Liability Litigation – Defendants  "Lawyer of the Year."

Martin Fletcher, the firm's Managing Partner, commented, “To be recognized by a national rating group in so many areas and with so many lawyers speaks extraordinarily well of the firm's reputation and the high quality of service we deliver to our clients on a daily basis. We are particularly delighted to receive Lawyer of the Year recognition for Brandy Rapp, a young lawyer in our Roanoke, Virginia, office.  But above all, we are honored by the confidence placed in us by our clients as shown by their comments.”

Client comments are posted on the U.S. News & Best Lawyers web site, at

One client commented, "I've been a client of Whiteford, Taylor & Preston for 13 satisfactory years. The firm has provided strong personal service across a spectrum of needs and has been a source of excellent referrals to outside resources when appropriate. The firm has gone the extra mile many times over. We've received sound strategic advice on both a solicited and unsolicited basis. Overall the firm has been responsive, accommodating and consistent."

The individual lawyers named as "Best Lawyers," and their years of first listing are below:

Maryland - Baltimore

  • Thomas C. Barbuti, 2009
  • Edward M. Buxbaum, 2012
  • John F. Carlton, 2011
  • Robert F. Carney, 2010
  • Mary Claire Chesshire, 2007
  • Jonathan E. Claiborne, 2011
  • Robert B. Curran, 2001
  • Deborah H. Diehl, 2008
  • Gardner M. Duvall, 2011
  • Howard R. Feldman, 2010
  • Martin T. Fletcher, 2008
  • Stephen F. Fruin, 2011
  • Peter Guattery, 2012
  • Harry S. Johnson, 2006
  • Frank S. Jones, Jr., 2007
  • Robert Kalinoski, 2012
  • Alexander Koff, 2011
  • Edward U. Lee III, 2011
  • Jerald Lurie, 2011
  • Dana O. Lynch, 2010
  • Paul W. Madden, 2010
  • Richard J. Magid, 2009
  • Rose M. Matricciani, 2008
  • Albert Mezzanotte, Jr., 2005
  • Paul M. Nussbaum, 2001
  • Kenneth Oestreicher, 2010
  • Gary S. Posner, 2011
  • Dennis Robinson, Jr., 2013
  • Herman B. Rosenthal, 2005
  • William F. Ryan, Jr., 2005
  • Joseph N. Schaller, 2011
  • Dennis J. Shaffer, 2012
  • Robert Sloan II, 2010
  • Dwight W. Stone II, 2012
  • Gregory M. Stone, 2009
  • Brent C. Strickland, 2010
  • Steven E. Tiller, 2006
  • Daniel J. Vorsteg, 2011
  • Warren N. Weaver, 2008
  • Thomas Whiteford, 2013
  • William B. Whiteford, 1989
  • Thurman W. Zollicoffer, Jr., 2009

Maryland - Columbia

  • Jonathan Z. May, 2007

Maryland - Towson

  • G. Scott Barhight, 2006
  • Jennifer R. Busse, 2013
  • Edwin G. Fee, 2008
  • John B. Gontrum, 2010
  • John A. Hayden III, 2013
  • Dino C. La Fiandra, 2010
  • George S. Lawler, 2009
  • Jennifer Ryan Lazenby, 2013

Virginia – Falls Church

  • Raymond J. Diaz, 2003
  • Bradford F. Englander, 2011
  • Christopher A. Jones, 2010
  • Thomas P. Kimmitt, Jr., 2013
  • Andrew J. Terrell, 2012

Virginia - Roanoke

  • Michael E. Hastings, 2007
  • Brandy M. Rapp, 2013

Washington, DC

  • C. Allen Foster, 2003
  • Jefferson C. Glassie, 2013
  • Michael J. Grace, 2006
  • Kenneth J. Ingram, 2007
  • Barry S. Neuman, 2008

About Best Lawyers: Since its inception in 1983, Best Lawyers has become universally regarded as a definitive guide to legal excellence. Because Best Lawyers is based on an exhaustive peer-review survey in which more than 36,000 leading attorneys cast almost 4.4 million votes on the legal abilities of other lawyers in their specialties, and because lawyers are not required or allowed to pay a fee to be listed, inclusion in Best Lawyers is considered a singular honor. Corporate Counsel magazine has called Best Lawyers “the most respected referral list of attorneys in practice.”

About Whiteford, Taylor & Preston LLP: The 160 attorneys at Whiteford, Taylor & Preston are dedicated to helping our clients protect and grow their businesses through strategic business and litigation services. We serve our clients in the region, across the nation and around the globe from our base of eleven offices in Maryland, Washington, D.C., Kentucky, Virginia, Delaware, and Michigan.