Fort Meade Alliance Executive Committee Elects Two New Members

Date: October 26, 2012

Hanover, MD -- The Fort Meade Alliance (FMA) has appointed two new members to its Executive Committee, Joseph V. Samek of Wilhelm Commercial Builders and Steven Tiller of Whiteford, Taylor & Preston, LLP.

Mr. Samek currently serves as Senior Vice President and Director of Government Services with Wilhelm Commercial Builders. He has over 25 years of program management and construction management experience in world-wide support with the US Army Corps of Engineers and DOD Acquisition. Mr. Samek was elected to FMA's Board of Directors in 2011.

Mr. Tiller is a partner at Whiteford, Taylor & Preston, LLP and serves as a co-chair for the firm's Intellectual Property and Technology practice group. Recognized as one of the “Best Lawyers in America,” he is widely known as one of the top technology and intellectual property litigators in the mid-Atlantic. Mr. Tiller was re-elected to the Board of Directors for his second term in 2011.

“We look forward to having Joe and Steve as a part of our Executive Committee,” said Deon Viergutz, president of the Fort Meade Alliance. “Having been a part of our Board of Directors, they understand the commitment it takes to keep the FMA a prominent organization in the Fort Meade region.”

In addition to Mr. Samek and Mr. Tiller, the FMA Executive Committee includes: President Deon Viergutz, Lockheed Martin Corp.; Treasurer Richard Young, TeleCommunication Systems Inc.; Secretary N. Gordon Knox, Miles & Stockbridge; Jay Baldwin, TD Bank; Penny Cantwell, Sandy Spring Bank; Stuart Title, A.J. Properties and Ex-Officio members Immediate Past President Rosemary Budd, TASC, Inc. and Tim O'Ferrall, Fort Meade Alliance.

The FMA Board of Directors includes: Bill Barroll, Corporate Office Properties Trust; Lisa Decker, Whiting-Turner Contracting Co.; Bill Dunahoo, Praxis Engineering; Robert Hannon, Anne Arundel Economic Development Corp.; Jay Hierholzer, Coldwell Banker Residential Brokerage; Debra Lilley, General Dynamics; Dr. Maureen McMahon, Anne Arundel Public Schools; Matthew Norris, Axom Technologies Inc.; Dr. Patrick O'Shea, University of Maryland, College Park; Joseph Pacileo, ManTech International; Elizabeth Rendon-Sherman, LG-TEK; Jason Silva, Sidus Data; Gina Stewart, Merritt Construction Services; Adrienne Trout, Community Volunteer; Mitch Weber, Heffner & Weber Companies.

About the Fort Meade Alliance
The Fort Meade Alliance is a 501(c) 4 non-profit independent community membership organization created to promote Fort George G. Meade, its more than 95 agencies and organizations and the surrounding areas as an economic asset, support the well being of the region with programs that support FGGM priorities, and serve as a resource to help make connections that make a difference. The Fort Meade Alliance is supported by membership dues and through a grant from the Maryland Department of Business and Economic Development. For more information, please go to

About the Fort Meade Alliance Foundation
The FMA Foundation is a 501(c) 3 non-profit organization that provides scholarships, grants, sponsorships and gifts to organizations, service personnel and their families, members and community organizations to address needs across the Fort Meade region.