The Howard County Chamber of Commerce Welcomes New Leadership at its Annual Meeting

Date: May 16, 2013

Columbia, MD - The Howard County Chamber of Commerce is pleased to welcome Greg Lowe to a one-year term as Chair of the Board of Directors. Lowe is vice president and COO at Lowe fs, a financial services firm headquartered in Columbia, Maryland. The Chamber membership voted to approve Lowe's appointment and the appointment of nine new at-large board members during the organization's Annual Meeting Luncheon on May 15.

Lowe joined the Chamber's board of directors in 2007 and previously served as co-chair of the Chamber's legislative and government affairs committee. For the past year he served on the executive committee as chair-elect, collaborating with outgoing Board Chair Duane Carey, who is president of Impact Marketing and Public Relations, LLC in Columbia.

Lowe said he plans to build the Chamber's legislative division in the coming year to increase its effectiveness as “the voice of business” in the state. He also plans to encourage more member-tomember support and increased mentorship. “Established leaders in the community have the ability to impact the next generation of leaders and ultimately make our community stronger,” he said.

New members of the Chamber's Board of Directors are:

  • Andrew Carmer, Vice President, SunTrust Bank, Columbia, MD
  • Ananta Hejeebu, Managing Partner, Howard Tech Advisors, Columbia, MD
  • Thomas M. Meachum, Esq., Carney, Kelehan, Bresler, Bennett & Scherr, LLP, Columbia, MD
  • Mike Muscatello, CPA, Partner, Govt. Contract Services Group, Aronson, LLC, Rockville, MD
  • Carla Northrop, Vice President, The Creig Northrop Team of Long & Foster Real Estate, Clarksville, MD
  • Jean Parker, General Manager, Merriweather Post Pavilion, Columbia, MD
  • Charles A. Phillips, Jr., RPLS, Sr. Vice President, Site Facilities Discipline Manager, KCI Technologies, Inc., Fulton, MD
  • Lawrence F. Twele, President & CEO, Howard County Maryland Economic Development Authority, Columbia, MD
  • Cathy Yost, Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, The Business Monthly, Ellicott City, MD

“We are very proud to have these individuals bring their business expertise and community spirit to our organization,” said Pam Klahr, president and CEO of the Chamber. “They represent small and large businesses in a variety of areas and will help the Chamber address the diverse needs of the regional business community.”

Volunteer Awards
At its annual meeting luncheon at Turf Valley yesterday, the Chamber also celebrated the many volunteers who serve on committees, assist with programs and events, and offer their time and talents so the organization can achieve its mission to advance the growth and success of the business community. The Chamber recognized the following individuals with Awards of Chamber Excellence (ACE).

2013 Ambassador of the Year: Matt Anderson, McFarlin Insurance
Anderson was recognized for his role in the Chamber Ambassadors program, which relies on members to spread information about the organization and assist fellow members. Anderson has been “a perfect example of goodwill,” said Chamber President Pam Klahr. “He is constantly spreading the word about how great it is to be involved in the chamber and helps to create a positive image of our organization.”

2013 Young Professional of the Year: Jack Gunther, Allen & Shariff
Gunther has served on the board of the Young Professionals Network (YPN), an initiative of the Chamber of Commerce, since 2008. He currently serves as the YPN sponsorship committee chair, and has helped YPN with marketing, philanthropic functions, building a strong volunteer base and recruiting a leadership team. He also provides a voice for young professionals on the Chamber's Legislative and Government Affairs Committee.

2013 Business Advocate: Joe Mezzanotte, Whiteford, Taylor & Preston, LLP
Mezzanotte built the Chamber's legislative expertise as co-chair of the Chamber's legislative committee for a number of years. He has an excellent rapport with elected officials on both sides of the aisle and is sincerely dedicated to the business community as a whole. He served as chair of the Chamber's Board of Directors from 2009 to 2010, deftly leading the chamber to a position of financial strength in spite of the economic struggles at the local, state, and national levels.

2013 Chairman's Award for Volunteer of the Year: Kyri Jacobs and Caroline Hook, Bonnie Heneson Communications, Inc.
The Chamber's fresh, easy-to-navigate new website is a testament to the generous donation of time and expertise by Jacobs and Hook. As members of the Chamber's communications committee, the two women have offered valuable perspective about how the Chamber can better share its messages and present a clear, consistent image to the community. They spent countless hours planning strategy and reviewing materials, to ensure the Chamber has an optimized, easy to navigate and visually appealing online hub.

About the Chamber of Commerce: The Howard County Chamber of Commerce is a nonprofit membership organization that supports businesses in the county and throughout the region. The Chamber helps businesses grow and succeed by serving as their voice in the community, facilitating connections and providing the resources they need.